© Otava / Tommi Tuomi

Virpi Hämeen-Anttila


Virpi Hämeen-Anttila (b. 1958) is active in many cultural spheres and is a much-loved storyteller with many successful novels to her name. Her debut novel The Year of the Wolf, set in a university milieu, has been made into a movie, and her novel The Thirteenth Child has been published in German.

As a full-blooded storyteller and readers’ favourite Virpi Hämeen-Anttila has consistently strengthened her position at the Finnish book market. Apart from being a best-selling author, she is also an eminent Indologist, an illustrator, the author of a number of reference works, and an active translator of Indian literature. She teaches Sanskrit and Indian Art History at the Institute for Asian and African Studies of the University of Helsinki.

Together with her husband Jaakko Hämeen-Anttila, Virpi Hämeen-Anttila collected the 2002 Eino Leino Prize for their translation work and for advancing the multicultural nature of literature. In 2004 she was also honoured by the Finnish Union of University Researchers and Teachers as their Person of the Year.

Virpi Hämeen-Anttila lives in Vantaa with her spouse. They have two grown-up daughters. Virpi’s hobbies include literature, music, visual arts, languages, philosophy, nature and road cycling.


Press quotes

Hämeen-Anttila knows how to entertain, but she can also write about serious matters even-handedly and with great understanding. – Me Naiset




  • Year of the Wolf, (Suden vuosi, 2003)
  • Reclining Nudes (Alastonkuvia, 2004)
  • The Thirteenth Child (Kolmastoista lapsi, 2005)
  • Inheritance (Perijät, 2006)
  • Blind Card (Sokkopeli, 2007)
  • I’ ll Remeber You Amanda (Muistan sinut Amanda, 2008)
  • Solstice (Päivänseisaus) 2009, Otava
  • Under Another Sky (Toisen taivaan alla, 2010)
  • The Crack (Railo, 2011)
  • Wallpaper-Coloured (Tapetinvärinen, 2012)
  • Marionettes (Marionetit, 2013)
  • The Night Has a Heart of Ice (Yön sydän on jäätä, 2014)
  • Summer of Snakes (Käärmeitten kesä, 2015)
  • Burning Past (Kuka kuolleista palaa, 2016)


  • Nietos: Intro (together with Maria Hämeen-Anttila, 2007)
  • Nietos: Riffi (together with Maria Hämeen-Anttila, 2008)
  • Nietos: Fade out (together with Maria Hämeen-Anttila, 2009)



  • The Atlas of Love (Rakkauden atlas, together with Jaakko Hämeen-Anttila, 2005)
  • A Book of Myths (Tarujen kirja, together with Jaakko Hämeen-Anttila, 2007)


Works published in / Rights sold to:

Germany (btb Verlag)
Estonia (Tänapäev)

Published books