© Otava / Tommi Tuomi

Kristina Carlson


Kristina Carlson was born in Helsinki, where she also studied literature at the University. Later she worked for a much appreciated weekly magazine for more than 20 years. In 1996 she decided to go on writing as a free lance journalist and author.

Her first novel To the Ends of the Earth came out in 1999 and was awarded the Finlandia Fiction Prize. The following year the book was published in German by Fest Verlag. It’s Czech rights are sold to Dybbuk.

The second novel Mr. Darwin’s Gardener (2009) won the State Prize for Literature in 2010 and was shortlisted for the Nordic Council’s Literature Award, and her third novel The Diary of William N. (2011) was shortlisted for the Finlandia Fiction Prize.


Press quotes

In Kristina Carlson’s novels, beauty is in the little things. – Ilkka



  • Hämärän valo, poems, 1986, Otava
  • Anni-series for young readers, under a pen name Mari Lampinen, 12-parts published 1996-1999, Gummerus
  • To the Ends of the Earth, novel 1999, Otava
  • Kahdesti kuollut, radio play, 2000 (based on the novel To the Ends of the Earth)
  • Mr. Darwin’s Gardener (Herra Darwinin puutarhuri, novel), 2009, Otava
  • The Diary Of William N. (William N. päiväkirja, novel), 2011, Otava



  • Finlandia Prize 1999
  • Kiitos kirjasta -medal 2010
  • State Prize for Literature 2010


Works published in / Rights sold to:

Czech Republic (Mladá fronta, Dybbuk)
UK (Peirene Press)
Estonia (Loomingu Raamatukogu)
Germany (Fest, Random House)


Published books